Brown-Nichols Science Award

The Brown-Nichols Science Award was established in 2008 in honor of the significant contributions of Dr. Randall Brown and Dr. Frederic Nichols. Each made substantive contributions to science through research, by facilitating good science by others, and by communicating science to managers and policy makers in the San Francisco Estuary and watershed. Together they laid the foundations for the first Bay-Delta Science Conference.

The award is given biennially to recognize the contributions of a scientist for significant research and active involvement in facilitating the use of science to manage the San Francisco Estuary and watershed. The next award recipient will be announced at the 2018 Bay-Delta Science Conference.

Dr. Jeffrey F. Mount receives the 2016 Brown-Nichols Science Award

Dr. Jeffrey Mount

The Selection Committee for the Brown-Nichols Science Award unanimously chose Dr. Jeffrey F. Mount as the recipient of the 2016 award. Beginning with the publication of his 1995 classic book: California rivers and streams: The conflict between fluvial process and land use, Dr. Mount has been playing a major role in improving our understanding of the San Francisco Estuary and its watershed and influencing policy. Dr. Mount is known for his energy, creativity, optimism and unique ability to articulate complex scientific ideas for policy makers and the public. He is a tireless advocate for interdisciplinary science and using the best science available for decision-making. Dr. Mount is dedicated to the pursuit of scientific truth and making the policy fit the science. The Bay-Delta science community is grateful for his continued effort to bridge the gap between science and policy with humor and grace. The award was presented to Jeff at the 9th Biennial Bay-Delta Science Conference. Congratulations Jeff!

Read more about Jeff Mount as well as other recipients of the Brown-Nichols Science Award.


View the Brown-Nichols Science Award nomination information


Honoree biographies


Previous Award Recipients